I am very excited to share one of my culinary experiment with you guys. I recently tasted a yummy mango chutney with one of my office colleagues – it was so finger licking that almost instantly I fell in love with it and was craving to get my hands on making it myself.

Little I knew of the recipe, but I was high on the taste and thought of experimenting myself. But, I must confess, the outcome was worth the experiment. Although the taste was a little different than the one I had with my colleague, but I was yummy. I couldn’t stop myself from licking my fingers. So, without much ado, let me share the recipe with you-

 

totapuri-mango.jpg
Totapuri Mango Variety

What you’ll need –

  • 4 Small sized mangos ( I preferred Totapuri variety, as it has perfect balance of sour and sweet)
  • Fennel seeds – a pinch
  • Green Cardamom – 5-7 pieces
  • black pepper – 5-7 pieces
  • Ginger powder – a pinch
  • Cloves – 5-7 pieces
  • Table salt and Black salt – As per taste
  • Chat masala – a pinch
  • Sugar – 4-cups

How you can make it –

  • Peel and grate the mangoes.
  • Dry roast all the spices without salt and chat masala
  • Grind the roasted spices and keep aside
  • Heat the pan on medium flame and add the grated mango to it
  • Sauté the mango till it becomes soft
  • Add the ground spices to the softened mango and stir occasionally
  • Add the table & black salt and cover the pan with a lid
  • After approx. 10 mins of covering the pan, add the sugar
  • Cover the pan again and let the sugar melt and mix with the other ingredients well
  • Keep the flame low and let the whole mixture thicken up a bit (approx. takes 20-30 mins)
  • Switch off the flame and let the chutney cool to room temperature
  • You can store it in an airtight jar and use it when required, (this would make approximately 500 gms of ready mango chutney)

I hope you’ll try the recipe and enjoy it as I did.

Much Luv,

Piya

